WHERE WE MEET: Unitarian Universalist Church, 4444 Arlington Blvd. (at George Mason Dr.), Arlington, VA 22204

Kol Ami

The Northern Virginia Reconstructionist Community

Steering Committee, Officers & Committees

The following is a brief description of the committees that have been established by the Kol Ami, the Northern Virginia Reconstructionist Community.

Each committee is under the leadership of one to three community members. As more people become involved and express an interest and/or expertise in establishing and chairing additional committees, we will do so.

If you would like either to join a committee or develop a new committee (or if you would like more information about a committee) please e-mail admin@kolamivirginia.org, and your request/comments will be forwarded to the appropriate individual. Or feel free to write directly to our President, Vice-President, or Children’s Program Chair.

Adult Jewish Education Committee – This committee plans and implements Jewish education programs for adults, focusing on Jewish religious and cultural topics.

Care and Concern Committee – The Care and Concern Committee supports solace and hope to congregants and their families during times of illness, suffering, loss and grief. At the same time, it encourages Kol Ami to reach out to its members during the time of joyful traditions.

Children & Family – The Children & Family Committee is responsible for addressing the needs of our community’s children, including child care and childhood education.

Membership Committee – The Membership Committee provides a personalized welcome to new and potential members in order to help new members find a fulfilling home in our congregation. The membership committee also reaches out to departing members to better understand why Kol Ami was no longer meeting their needs.

Ritual Committee – The Ritual Committee plans the Ritual calendar of services and establishes policy with regard to religious services and other activities (i.e. Passover Seder). Its work  includes: food and kashrut issues, format for services, adherence to holiday customs and ceremonies, and answers to questions about established ritual issues. Members of this committee might have skills and/or interest in leading lay-led services. This committee also interfaces with Kol Ami’s rabbinic support.

Tikkun Olam Committee – The Tikkun Olam Committee seeks out and organizes opportunities for volunteer action.

Kol Ami Officers

July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018

POSITION NAME EMAIL [at] = @
President Lynda Erinoff president@kolamivirginia.org
Vice President Mike Linick vice-president@kolamivirginia.org
Secretary Ted Joseph secretary@kolamivirginia.org
Treasurer Erv Walter treasurer@kolamivirginia.org
Past President Jane Schulman past_pres@kolamivirginia.org

Kol Ami Steering Committee & Committee Chairs

July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018

POSITION NAME EMAIL
Steering-At-Large Members Jon Baumgarten
Mattie Cohan
Shana Harbour
Eric Rosenberg
Anne Salzberg
David Sidransky
Mindi Weisenbloom
Committee Chairs
Adult Education Richard Ruth adult_ed@kolamivirginia.org
Care and Concern Harriet Epstein

Sharon Sterling

care@kolamivirginia.org
Children & Family Mindy Rudell children@kolamivirginia.org
Membership Debbie Linick

Mindi Weisenbloom

membership@kolamivirginia.org
Ritual Mike Jawer ritual@kolamivirginia.org
Rabbi’s Programming Elenor Hodges planning@kolamivirginia.org
Tikkun Olam/Netzavim Emily Schwartz Greco

Elizabeth Lower-Basch

tikunolam@kolamivirginia.org
Key volunteers
Healing List

JCRC Liaison

Toni Popkin

Mindi Weisenbloom

healing@kolamivirginia.org

jcrc@kolamivirginia.org

 

Regional/Reconstructionist movement Anne Salzberg jrf@kolamivirginia.org
Schmooze Club

Shabbat Hosting

Madeleine Levy

Madeleine Levy

schmooze@kolamivirginia.org

hosting@kolamivirginia.org

Webmaster webmaster@kolamivirginia.org
Yahrzeit List Betsy Greer yahrzeit@kolamivirginia.org

 

 

Contact Kol Ami

P.O. Box 1801, Annandale, VA 22003
Phone: 571-271-8387
Rabbi's Study: 202-364-3006

Where We Meet

The Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington
4444 Arlington Blvd.
Arlington Blvd. (Route 50) & George Mason Dr.
Arlington, VA 22204
View Map & Directions

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up for a monthly newsletter about upcoming Kol Ami events and programs. Subscribe.