WHERE WE MEET: Unitarian Universalist Church, 4444 Arlington Blvd. (at George Mason Dr.), Arlington, VA 22204

Kol Ami

The Northern Virginia Reconstructionist Community

Steering Committee, Officers & Committees

The following is a brief description of the committees that have been established by the Kol Ami, the Northern Virginia Reconstructionist Community.

Each committee is under the leadership of one to three community members. As more people become involved and express an interest and/or expertise in establishing and chairing additional committees, we will do so.

If you would like either to join a committee or develop a new committee (or if you would like more information about a committee) please e-mail admin@kolamivirginia.org, and your request/comments will be forwarded to the appropriate individual. Or feel free to write directly to our President, Vice-President, or Children’s Program Chair.

Adult Jewish Education Committee – This committee plans and implements Jewish education programs for adults, focusing on Jewish religious and cultural topics.

Care and Concern Committee – The Care and Concern Committee supports solace and hope to congregants and their families during times of illness, suffering, loss and grief. At the same time, it encourages Kol Ami to reach out to its members during the time of joyful traditions.

Children & Family – The Children & Family Committee is responsible for addressing the needs of our community’s children, including child care and childhood education.

Outreach Committee – The Outreach Committee is responsible for both internal and external communications as well as outreach to both new and existing members. Specific tasks of the committee will include: maintaining a database of members and prospects; communications, electronically and by mail; maintaining the Kol Ami web site; preparing and distributing press releases on Kol Ami activities; placing announcements about Kol Ami events in community calendars; working with graphic designer to develop advertising and placing advertising.

Ritual Committee – The Ritual Committee plans the Ritual calendar of services and establishes policy with regard to religious services and other activities (i.e. Passover Seder). Its work  includes: food and kashrut issues, format for services, adherence to holiday customs and ceremonies, and answers to questions about established ritual issues. Members of this committee might have skills and/or interest in leading lay-led services. This committee also interfaces with Kol Ami’s rabbinic support.

Tikkun Olam Committee – The Tikkun Olam Committee seeks out and organizes opportunities for volunteer action.

Kol Ami Officers

July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017

POSITION NAME EMAIL [at] = @
President Jane Schulman president@kolamivirginia.org
Vice President Lynda Erinoff vice-president@kolamivirginia.org
Secretary Ted Joseph secretary@kolamivirginia.org
Treasurer Erv Walter treasurer@kolamivirginia.org
Past President Marcel Infeld past_pres@kolamivirginia.org

Kol Ami Steering Committee & Committee Chairs

July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017

POSITION NAME EMAIL
Steering-At-Large Members Jon Baumgarten
Mattie Cohan
Shana Harbour
Mike Jawer
Debbie Linick
Eric Rosenberg
Mindy Rudell
Willa Siegel
Mindi Weisenbloom
Committee Chairs
Adult Education Richard Ruth adult_ed@kolamivirginia.org
Care and Concern Harriet Epstein care@kolamivirginia.org
Children & Family Mindy Rudell children@kolamivirginia.org
Outreach Emily Schwartz Greco
Elenor Hodges
outreach@kolamivirginia.org
Ritual Jane Petkofsky ritual@kolamivirginia.org
Strategic Planning Vacant planning@kolamivirginia.org
Tikkun Olam Sharon Sterling tikunolam@kolamivirginia.org
Key volunteers
Healing List Toni Popkin healing@kolamivirginia.org
Regional/Reconstructionist movement Anne Salzberg jrf@kolamivirginia.org
Shabbat Hosting Lynda Erinoff
Webmaster Zachary Schrag webmaster@kolamivirginia.org
Yahrzeit List Betsy Greer yahrzeit@kolamivirginia.org

Contact Kol Ami

P.O. Box 1801, Annandale, VA 22003
Phone: 571-271-8387
Rabbi's Study: 202-364-3006

Where We Meet

The Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington
4444 Arlington Blvd.
Arlington Blvd. (Route 50) & George Mason Dr.
Arlington, VA 22204
View Map & Directions

Join Our Mailing List

KANVRC News is an announcement-only e-mail list for visitors who want information about upcoming Kol Ami events and programs. Subscribe to KANVRC News.