Kol Ami — The Northern Virginia Reconstructionist Community

Officers & Committees

The following is a brief description of the committees that have been established by Kol Ami.

If you would like either to join a committee or recommend a new committee (or if you would like more information about a committee) please e-mail admin@kolamivirginia.org, and your request/comments will be forwarded to the appropriate individual.

Adult Jewish Education Committee – The Adult Jewish Education Committee works to broaden and deepen Jewish learning among Kol Ami members, and support our efforts to be a lifelong learning community.

Care and Concern CommitteeThe Care & Concern Committee facilitates support to Kol Ami members experiencing life challenges, such as illness, disability, grief, death, loneliness and aging. Support includes maintaining lists (Yahrzeit, healing, resources), help in providing transportation and food, assisting with Shivas, and offering healing services.

Children & Family – The Children & Family Committee organizes and runs Kol Ami’s Jewish Children’s Education Program (JCEP), multiple family-friendly holiday celebrations each year, and helps with the B’nai Mitzvah Program. JCEP is a small school with approximately 20-30 students, taught by volunteer teachers from the Kol Ami Community, and focused on Hebrew language skills and Jewish Studies. Annual family-friendly holiday celebrations we organize include High Holiday Children’s Services, Hanukkah, Tu BiShvat, Purim, and a JCEP-led Shabbat service/pizza party.

Honors CommitteeThe Honors Committee identifies Kol Ami members whose contribution to the community has been exceptional. It proposes them for recognition as Kol Amites of the Year or as recipients of the Hineni Award.

Inclusion – The Inclusion Committee strives to raise awareness of and respond to the special needs and concerns of our members. We work to identify and remove potential obstacles to their full participation and to build a fully inclusive culture in the Kol Ami community.

Membership Committee – The Membership Committee provides a personalized welcome to new and potential members in order to help new members find a fulfilling home in our congregation. The membership committee also reaches out to departing members to better understand why Kol Ami was no longer meeting their needs.

Ritual Committee – The Ritual Committee plans the Ritual calendar of services and establishes policy with regard to religious services and other activities (i.e. Passover Seder). Its work  includes: food and kashrut issues, format for services, adherence to holiday customs and ceremonies, and answers to questions about established ritual issues. Members of this committee might have skills and/or interest in leading lay-led services. This committee also interfaces with Kol Ami’s rabbinic support.

Tikkun Olam Committee – The Tikkun Olam Committee seeks out and organizes opportunities for volunteer action.

Kol Ami Officers

July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

POSITION NAME EMAIL [at] = @
President Debra Linick president@kolamivirginia.org
Vice President Jane Schulman vice-president@kolamivirginia.org
Secretary Ted Joseph secretary@kolamivirginia.org
Treasurer Erv Walter treasurer@kolamivirginia.org

Kol Ami Committees

July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

Position Name Email
Steering-At-Large Members

Gordon Achtermann
Rayna Aylward
Amber Baum
Jon Baumgarten
Lance Feiner
Toni Popkin
Mindy Rudell
Jason Wright

Committees
Adult Education Elenor Hodges adult_ed@kolamivirginia.org
Care and Concern

Rayna Aylward, Chair

Joan Goldfarb
Betsy Greer
Louise Lerner
Toni Popkin
Sharon Sterling

care@kolamivirginia.org
Children & Family Mindy Rudell, Chair
Dayna Davitz
Joan Goldfarb
Emily Toll
children@kolamivirginia.org
Honors Rayna Aylward
Jane Petkofsky
Toni Popkin
Mindy Rudell
Inclusion Toni Popkin, Chair
Todd Birkenruth
Harriet Epstein
Louise Lerner
Cameron Vanore
inclusion@kolamivirginia.org
Long Range Planning Amber Baum, Chair longrangeplanning@kolamivirginia.org
Membership Emily Schwartz Greco, Chair
Betsy Greer
Debbie Linick
membership@kolamivirginia.org
Ritual Mike Jawer, Chair
Erin Bueno de Mesquita
Mark Graboyes
Joan Goldfarb
Margie Jervis
Steve Pershing
Jane Petkofsky
Anne Salzberg
ritual@kolamivirginia.org
Tikkun Olam TBD tikkunolam@kolamivirginia.org
         Key Volunteers
Healing List Toni Popkin healing@kolamivirginia.org
JCRC Liaison jcrc@kolamivirginia.org
Kol Amites Music Jim North & Jason Wright, Co-directors

Jason Wright, Arranger

Leyning Coordinator Anne Salzberg
NOVA Education Directors’ Council Liaison Jason Weiss
Reconstructionist Movement Jason Weiss jrf@kolamivirginia.org
Schmooze Club Madeleine Levy schmooze@kolamivirginia.org
Shabbat Hosting Valerie Herold hosting@kolamivirginia.org
Talmud and Pizza Richard Ruth talmudandpizza@kolamivirginia.org
Webmaster webmaster@kolamivirginia.org
Yahrzeit List Betsy Greer yahrzeit@kolamivirginia.org

Contact Kol Ami

P.O. Box 1801, Annandale, VA 22003
Phone: 571-271-8387
Rabbi's Study: 202-364-3006

Where We Meet

The Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington
4444 Arlington Blvd.
Arlington Blvd. (Route 50) & George Mason Dr.
Arlington, VA 22204
View Map & Directions

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up for a monthly newsletter about upcoming Kol Ami events and programs. Subscribe.